Solved

rotated repo retention

Userlevel 2
  • Comes here often
  • 8 comments

Hello, I am new to using Veeam and in my small laboratory I am testing rotating disks :

I have a retention policy of 21 and I have 3 disks (one per week) : If I understand correctly it would be 7 per disk 

The question is: if I use Forever Forward Incremental when the disk already has 7 points and I connect it again, will it merge the old incremental and save only full backup?

Thanks

icon

Best answer by coolsport00 24 October 2023, 14:02

View original

15 comments

Userlevel 7
Badge +7

If you select continue an existing backup chain at configuration repository, it will create a new full backup  file as start point for subsequent incremental backups , but it won’t merge the existing incremental.

https://helpcenter.veeam.com/docs/backup/vsphere/rotated_drives_hiw.html?ver=120

Userlevel 7
Badge +17

Hi @Srt93 - FFwd doesn’t merge all increments into a Full. How FFwd works is, at the end of however many Restore Points you have configured, Veeam creates an Incremental. Then, Veeam will merge the initial Full with the earliest Incremental and moves the backup chain forward by 1 to be compliant with the Restore Point setting.

Now, I’ve not used Rotated Drives in my environment personally, but as Cary shared from the link he provided, when you swap out a drive, a new Full is created and then subsequent Incrementals after it, until you swap your drive again. And, it repeats itself. That’s hard for me to picture how those drives work with Retention settings to be honest. What I recommend doing is just test it out with test data and notice the behavior to see if it’s what you want. At the very least, you can ping Veeam Support for clarification on how retention works in your job settings with Rotated Drives.

Userlevel 2

Thanks for the replys

@coolsport00 Yes,Documentation in this regard is very little.

Userlevel 7
Badge +17