Solved

calculation of backup proxy need

Userlevel 6
Badge +1
  • Comes here often
  • 35 comments

hello everyone,

i’m a beginner for using veeam software, so I would like to know about the calculation of backup proxy needs.

according to this article https://bp.veeam.com/vbr/2_Design_Structures/D_Veeam_Components/D_backup_proxies/vmware_proxies.html

if I have 236 VMs with used data around 192 TB and for physical server is 17 with used data 50 TB,

VMs proxy calculation

D = 192 TB*1024*1024 = 201326592
W = 8H*3600 seconds = 28,800 seconds (backup Windows in seconds)
T = 52428800/28800 =6991MB/s

Core Full = 1821/100 = 70, Core Incremental = (T*CR)/25 = 14 core, proxy requirement : 70core & 140 GB RAM

well, if I want to achieve backup windows in 8 hour the proxy that I need is

9 virtual proxy

8vCpu and 18 RAM for each virtual proxy server

Physical Server

D = 50TB *1024*1024 = 52428800 
W = 8H*3600 seconds = 28,800 seconds (backup Windows in seconds)
T = 52428800/28800 =1,821 MB/s

Core Full = 1821/100 = 19 core, Core Incremental = (T*CR)/25 = 4 core, proxy requirement : 19 core & 38 GB RAM
2 physical server

10 CPU core and 18 RAM for each physical proxy server

is this calculation a best practice for assuming a proxy need ?

thank you

icon

Best answer by MicoolPaul 11 June 2023, 10:44

View original

10 comments

Userlevel 7
Badge +20

Hi,

The calculation is a strong recommendation for calculating what you need.

Targeting an 8 hour full backup is ambitious though with that data size so hopefully you’ve got fast production & backup repositories to handle that throughput.

I’d also suggest at that core count to go physical proxy if you can, unless you really have a LOT of physical cpu cores in your virtual environment.