Solved

Why is my backup repository folder size much greater than disk capacity used?

• 31 October 2023
  • 7 comments

Userlevel 2
Badge
  • Not a newbie anymore
  • 2 comments

Hi, I am new to Veeam Backup.  On a Dell PowerEdge R7515 running Windows 2022 Standard, I have a 67 terabyte REFS volume where I store Veeam backups under a folder called “vault” (see screenshot below).  In Windows Explorer, when I check the size of the “vault” folder (by right-clicking on the folder name and going to Properties) it says the “Size on disk” is more than 67.6 terabytes (see below).  This folder contains one .vbm file and a few .vbk and .vib files.  However, when I check the properties of the physical disk volume under Disk Management utility (diskmgmt.msc), it says that I still have about 31.9 terabytes left on disk meaning that ONLY about 35 terabytes of data is used with about 48% free (see below).  Also, I do not have data duplication role installed on this server. Could someone shed some light on this extremely large discrepancy between disk volume size and folder size?  Thank you!

Content of “vault folder”:

Disk Management says:

icon

Best answer by Chris.Childerhose 31 October 2023, 14:07

View original

7 comments

Userlevel 7
Badge +20

It is due to ReFS block cloning feature.  That is what saves space when using this type of repository with Veeam.

Userlevel 7
Badge +20

See here - Block cloning on ReFS | Microsoft Learn

Userlevel 7
Badge +7

It seems like the disk has non-partition space. Can you show the disk status? It’s at the bottom of disk management. If it does, you can extend the volume space.

Userlevel 7
Badge +6

ReFS using Spaceless Full Backup Technology: This is a storage-efficiency technology that allows multiple full backup files residing on the same ReFS volume to share the same physical data blocks, resulting in reduced backup storage capacity consumption that rivals that of deduplication technologies.