Solved

What kind of compression is used for VEEAM backups?

Userlevel 2

I’m new to Veeam and I really like how easy it is to create scheduled backups and to retrieve individual files.

Does anyone know what kind of compression Veeam uses when they create either increment or full backups?  Thanks, Steve

icon

Best answer by coolsport00 6 June 2022, 16:12

View original

6 comments

Userlevel 2

Please forgive me for asking a question that has been discussed here before.

I did search but didn’t find anything but when I created this entry it showed me similar items and I found all of the info I was looking for.  Thanks to everyone who has posted about Veeam compression. It has been a great deal of help.

Userlevel 7
Badge +7

@steveneashcraft 

about 2:1

Data Compression and Deduplication - User Guide for Microsoft Hyper-V (veeam.com)

it depends on what settings you have entered in the default job.
default is optimal

Userlevel 7
Badge +20

@steveneashcraft

about 2:1

Data Compression and Deduplication - User Guide for Microsoft Hyper-V (veeam.com)

it depends on what settings you have entered in the default job.
default is optimal

Further to this is will also depend on your backend storage type and file system you are sending backups to like ReFS, XFS, etc.  This will play a role as some vendors have best practices for storage settings like the Storage Optimization setting and possibly disabling Dedupe if using a Dedupe appliance, etc.

Be sure to check the Best Practices guide here - Welcome - Veeam Backup & Replication Best Practice Guide

Userlevel 7
Badge +20

Compression is part of the data efficiency techniques used to reduce size, it’s a multi-prong approach.

To improve storage efficiency you have the following:

• Compression: this is customisable and you can set to dedupe friendly should you use a deduplication appliance/Windows Server with deduplication enabled (I don’t see any benefits in doing WS with dedupe but just for completeness)