Skip to main content

I’m a newbie when it comes to Veeam so I’m still learning the ropes.

I have a question about Proxys, and how they can potentially help us improve the speed in which we backup.

Currently we have 4 core sites with our B&R located at one of those sites, therefore this one site is backing up the 4 sites job after job then transferring them over to a Linux Hardened Repo as backup copies.

The server itsellf has x2 10G nics which I don’t belief are currently being used to their full potential due to them only using Cat5e (wasn’t setup by me).

As you can appriciate a lot of load on a single server, so any help on how we can potentially set this up correctly.

Hi @lgh and welcome to the community.

Normally i would prefer that you have a minimum of 1 proxy per site. Depends on your amount of VMs/Data you want to backup, more proxies or resources for these are required.

If you have only your VBR as a proxy, a lot of traffic traverse between your VBR site and the site where your VMs are placed…

Proxies can have different transfer modes → Transport Modes - User Guide for VMware vSphere (veeam.com)

Just be be clear: am i right, that on your sites where your VMs are placed, there is no local repository - so all your backup data will be transfered to your main site (where also the VBR is located)?

I would recommend also, to have a minimum of one local repository on each site - for the primary backup target. In a backup scenario you wouldn’t have a bottleneck by connection between your sites, the backup windows will decrease (and so also the time, where a VM has an active snapshot). I case of a restore (or an instant recovery), you would restore the data from the affected site. But it’s also recommended, that you have a secondary copy offsite - here you could use a backup copy job - this wouldn’t effect your vSphere environment a second time.

Cheers, Markus