Question

GFS by multiple jobs?

Userlevel 3

I studied about Veeam’s GFS, as I understand, it’ll consume a lot of disk space to work? 

If I want to keep 31 daily, 4 weekly, 12 monthly, I’ll end up with 1+4+12 = 17 full copies disk space + 30 daily incrementials ? 

What if I create 3 different jobs on the same VM, daily (30days), weekly (4 weeks), monthly (12 months)

I’ll end up with:

one daily full + 29 daily incrementals

one weekly full + 3 weekly incrementals

one monthly full + 11 monthly incrementals 

Total 3 full + 43 increments, should use much less space than build-in GFS?

8 comments

Userlevel 7
Badge +20

Hi,

Things like this:

one daily full + 29 daily incrementals

Indicate you’re using reverse incremental or incremental without periodic fulls. Otherwise if you’re doing incremental with synthetic or active fulls on say a weekly basis you’d have more fulls.

Also, GFS assigns “flags” to full backups to avoid a duplication of fulls.

Consider if you’ve got 4 weeks in a month, and you create a monthly full on the first week of the month.

On that first week, Veeam won’t create two fulls, one for a monthly and one for a weekly, it creates one full, it assigns it both weekly and monthly “flags” to it. When the weekly backup is no longer needed by retention, the weekly flag gets removed. Once all flags are removed it is purged. This works if you added yearly to the mix as well.

This is described here: https://helpcenter.veeam.com/docs/backup/vsphere/gfs_how_flags_assigned.html?ver=120#algorithm-for-multiple-flag-types

We can be more specific on what you should expect if you give us details on which incremental/reverse incremental backup types you’re using.

one weekly full + 3 weekly incrementals

one monthly full + 11 monthly incrementals