BLOG: Synology - Immutable Snapshots & Immutable Replication

Userlevel 7
Badge +20

I recently wrote a blog about using Synology Immutable Snapshots and Replication.  Check it out below and find it on my blog as well - Just Virtualization Blog

Synology - Immutable LUN Snapshots with Immutable Replication

I have been using Synology NAS devices for the past two years in my homelab with VMware vSphere 8.0U2, vSAN, Intel Optane, Veeam Backup & Replication, Backup Eagle, Runecast and a host of other things. I have my newest DS923+ set up as my primary storage for my VMware environment and my older DS920+ is my backup NAS as well as Replication partner.

One thing that comes with the Synology DSM 7.2 upgrade (OS) is the ability to set up snapshots on a schedule, including Immutability. With Ransomware on the rise protecting your systems with backups alone is starting to not be sufficient enough. Enter the Immutable storage snapshots with replication on the Synology NAS devices.

In order to configure storage snapshots with Immutability you first need to create a LUN within the SAN Manager application on the web UI. Launch the web UI and log in, from the main screen open SAN Manager and use the Create button to begin the process to create a new LUN.

This image has an empty alt attribute; its file name is SAN-Manager-1024x555.png

SAN Manager - Create button for new LUN

***NOTE: When creeating a LUN for snapshots you need to select Thin Provisioned as the Thick Provisioned option does not allow snapshots.***

Here is the new LUN Creation Wizard with all the options selected -

This image has an empty alt attribute; its file name is New-LUN4-Thin-Provisioned.png

New LUN with Thin Provisioning for Snapshots