Question

How to safely unmount veeam datastore that is mounted for backup in vCenter

• 15 January 2024
  • 8 comments

Userlevel 1

Hi, I am quite new to veeam.

I want to know how to safely unmount veeam datastore in vCenter.

Is there any precautions before unmounting? Also, I want to know the ways to restore the original state in case unmounting procedures failed.

8 comments

Userlevel 5
Badge +3

I have often seen an NFS datastore left over from Veeam Restores in the vCenter. If no VM is running on it, you can unmount the datastore without any problems, otherwise the vCenter would not allow it anyway. So just right-click and unmount

Userlevel 4
Badge +2

@apple0529 Hello and Welcome to Veeam :)

As you have posted in our Hands on Lab section and are new to our product, can I suggest you run one of our On Demand Hands on Labs, which will take you through various data protection scenarios. 

If you are looking to restore data (from your question) - can I suggest the “Test Drive Veeam Recovery Scenarios” Hands on Lab, available here > https://go.veeam.com/hands-on-lab-experience

Thank you, 

Ian

Userlevel 7
Badge +6

If its one of the VeeamBackup_%VBRSERVER% name they are safe to unmount. Just check there are no restores in progress that are using it.

We periodically go through and unmount these as they can cause havoc with our monitoring.

Userlevel 7
Badge +17

Hi @apple0529 -

As others have shared, you can simply unmount the (NFS) datastore from the ESXi Host it’s connected to. Per the User Guide, NFS datastores are used for:
- Surebackup / SureReplica jobs
- Instant Recovery
- Instant Disk Recovery
- U-AIR
- Multi-OS guest file recovery
..among a few other things.