Solved

Kasten K10 - Need help understanding snapshot retention

• 2 October 2023
  • 5 comments

Userlevel 1

Hello Everybody,

I am new to Kasten K10 and trying to understand the snapshot retention. Below is one of the policies I’ve created.

It takes daily backup of a K8s application.

I need help understanding what exactly does 31 daily, 10 weekly, 12 monthly and 7 yearly snapshots retention mean.

And this is what I see when I get into the restore points:

And what should the settings be to retain backups/snapshots of last 1 month (30 or 31 days), and one snapshot per month for the last one year. So, for example today’s date is Oct 2nd, so daily snapshots from Sep 2nd till today and 1 monthly snapshot from Sep 2022 till Sep 2023. This is just an example, I know it depends on the snapshots Kasten has already taken. But, I want to achieve this.

icon

Best answer by Hagag 4 October 2023, 07:40

View original

5 comments

Userlevel 5
Badge +2

@abhilashhm15 

The retention settings you've shared instruct K10 to maintain 31 snapshots per day. This implies that the retention policy would need to be run 31 times daily. If not, K10 will refrain from deleting any daily snapshots until it accumulates 31 of them. Consequently, K10 will retain snapshots until it reaches this count. When a new snapshot is taken, the oldest one is removed to ensure that there are always 31 snapshots in total.

By following this approach, k10 will ensure that there are only 10 snapshots remaining at the end of each week.

The same idea applies to monthly and yearly snapshots. You will have 12 snapshots per month and 7 snapshots per year.

To ensure that your retention policy aligns precisely with your requirements, it would be helpful if you could provide specific details about the number of snapshots you wish to retain for each day, month, week, and year. 

Once you have clarified this, I can provide you with the proper settings.

Userlevel 1

Hi @Hagag,