Solved

Final Decision - Veeam Backup Infrastructure

Userlevel 7
Badge +1

Hello to all Veeam enthusiasts and professionals,

I’m finalizing my Backup Infrastructure plan and I would like to get advice, and corrections if anybody is willing to help, and discuss 😁

The only thing that is confusing me is the use of Backup Proxies, do I need them, is it too much now in this setup, do I need something else to make the performance of Backup Better?

Comments are welcome, I am still learning this and each day brings something new. 

icon

Best answer by NemanjaJanicic 27 August 2023, 09:09

View original

18 comments

Userlevel 7
Badge +20

This setup looks good but you will want Proxies for the backups as they are the ones that process things for the VBR server.  Depending on your environment if it is VMware you may want to have a Proxy server per host to enable the hotadd feature which speeds up backups.

This site explains proxy servers - https://bp.veeam.com/vbr/2_Design_Structures/D_Veeam_Components/D_backup_proxies/vmware_proxies.html

Userlevel 7
Badge +1

Hello @Chris.Childerhose,

We are using Hyper-V Environment.
So the location for the Proxies is also okay?

I plan to create a VMs for Proxies.

We have:

1. 16 x Backup Jobs
  2. 3 x Backup Copy Jobs over WAN Accelerators
    1. 1 X Backup Copy Job is our biggest VM with 12TB
    2. 1 X Backup Copy Job with 2 VM that equals around 3TB
    3. 1 X Backup Copy Job with 9 small VM’s around 1TB all together.

How many Backup Proxies, and WAN Accelerators would I need?
Those parts are the most confusing ones and I can’t calculate them..

Userlevel 7
Badge +17

Hi @NemanjaJanicic - yes, your infrastructure looks good as Chris states. Just for clarity, I’d add “Repository” to your Windows VM objects running ReFS/iSCSI in your diagram, as they will be used for the Repositories Veeam component.