Solved

How to remove .vib and .vbk files without affecting job

Userlevel 2
Badge
  • Not a newbie anymore
  • 2 comments

Hi there,

I am new to Veeam.  I created and completed my first backup job and I’d like to now remove a specific .vbk file and a specific .vib file from that completed job.  Is this even possible?  I looked into the Remove-VBRBackupFile command  but it seems to relate to “missing” backup files, which is not the case.

Thank you!

-sul.

icon

Best answer by Chris.Childerhose 19 July 2023, 21:25

View original

7 comments

Userlevel 7
Badge +17

If you do remove a .vbk and/or .vib file, you would have an incomplete retention chain, thus making restores not possible, which you don’t wanna do. Is this just for testing/playing with?

Userlevel 7
Badge +14

Please dont do it manually from the disk. There are options available in the user interface. A guide is here: https://helpcenter.veeam.com/docs/backup/vsphere/delete_backup_from_disk.html?ver=120

Userlevel 7
Badge +20

If you want to remove files the best way is reduce the retention points you are keeping and let Veeam do it for you.

Userlevel 2
Badge

If you do remove a .vbk and/or .vib file, you would have an incomplete retention chain, thus making restores not possible, which you don’t wanna do. Is this just for testing/playing with?

Thank you coolsport00!  Completely appreciate the warning and implication. Yes, you’re right, it’s for testing/experimenting at this point as I dive into Veeam head on.  Alternatively, I know I can shorten retention but wondering if there is a manual way as well.

best-

-s.

Userlevel 7
Badge +20

Follow the link above from Rasmus ☝️

Userlevel 2
Badge

Thanks I did earlier.  Just not seeing a way to selectively remove .vbk and .vib files.  Seems to me, the method stated will delete the entire job and all the files within.  I could be wrong though.

Userlevel 7
Badge +20