Skip to main content
Solved

S3 object buckets

Hello,

I would like to have your feedback about how to manage S3 backup.

I mean, on the service provider S3 

Créate access key with correct privilege

Then I need to create a bucket. What name do you choose ? Is there use case where several buckets are needed for end customer ?

And for the folder, same question.

I mean, it’s more about governance and to be sure to understand correctly the pro and con.

Do I need 1 bucket / job ? 

Do I need 1 bucket for all backup job and an other for backup copy ?

Do I need 1 bucket for all jobs type ?

Then, for the folder, 1 job per folder ? 1 job per job type ? 1 folder for all ? 

I’m totally new to the object storage and would like to understand what are the best practice for this :)

Thanks for your answer :) 

6 comments

Userlevel 7
Badge +22

Hi @damien commenge!

Aside from the obvious ‘it depends’ here’s what I think you should know:

Do I need 1 bucket / job ? 

No, though you should be mindful of how far your S3 storage is designed to scale to with Veeam within a single bucket. Object Storage performance and stability is heavily dependent on database performance with some storage platforms in-particular. AWS/Azure for example will scale to hundreds of TBs without breaking a sweat, but I saw within one implementation that a vendor specified to size the buckets no larger than 50TB unless using 4MB blocks.

Do I need 1 bucket for all backup job and an other for backup copy ?

Nope.

Do I need 1 bucket for all jobs type ?

You don’t have a need to create multiple buckets per job type, or anything like this. It’s down to you to decide how you would like to split any buckets however with the potential size maximums I mentioned above.

Then, for the folder, 1 job per folder ? 1 job per job type ? 1 folder for all ? 

Again, not necessarily.

Here’s what I would suggest you do before designing any object storage. Look at IAM/STS.