Skip to main content
Solved

Failed Unable to install backup agent: failed to connect to [computer name] Error: Access is denied.

i I am a noob trying to learn this software for now just to make some very basic backups of my C Drive on my home computer.

• I installed the software,

• created a new repository on a local drive

• Started a new job : volume type

• Under computers I clicked add and added hostname of my computer as an individual computer - using my local windows user name and password for credentials (this user is the admin on my local machine)

• Set Up backups to a local disk on my computer

• When it attempts to run I get "Unable to process [computername] - host rescan is required

When it tried to scan I get:

Failed Unable to install backup agent: failed to connect to [computer name] Error: Access is denied. Failed to connect to share '\\[ipredacted]\ADMIN$'.

I saw that in windows run I am able to open that '\\[ipredacted]\ADMIN$'. - and the folder pops up.

I tried disabling my firewall momentarily to see if it was a port issue.

I double checked the windows credentials I entered.

Nothing seems to work - can someone point me in the right direction of what to research?

Upvote2Downvote0comments0 awardsShare

9 comments

Userlevel 7
Badge +21

What format of the credentials are you using?  For a workgroup you need - hostname\username and if domain then - domain\username.

If you search the community there are many topics on this subject with different answers and information.

Userlevel 2

What format of the credentials are you using?  For a workgroup you need - hostname\username and if domain then - domain\username.

If you search the community there are many topics on this subject with different answers and information.

Thank you for the response.