Veeam 100 Summit - Day 1

• 31 October 2023
  • 2 comments

Userlevel 5
Badge +2

In the beautiful city of Prague morning, I had a warm morning meeting with the Veeam team Madalina Cristil, Safiya Mohamed, Nikola Pejková, and Rick Vanover. It was really a warm welcome like we met millions of times before.

I received my SWAGs. Well, It is my first time as a Vanguard, In fact, I received double swags as a Vanguard and VUG Egypt Leader.

So, I am happy with my swags. But there are many more important things than swag. It is an exclusive first session.

Day 1 was exclusive to those who were interested in Kasten by Veeam workshop. Actually, this is one of my personal/work interest.

The workshop was run by Michael Cade

The most thing I liked is that it was started from scratch. I mean, it is about Kasten backup for Kubernetes. But it started with what is Kubernetes itself, with its history, and about DevOps cycle as well.

If you're not familiar with Kasten, It is #1 Kubernetes data protection platform. It is used for backup and restore application, disaster recovery, and application mobility.

Read Kubernetes backup and recovery for dummies for free.

I lead DevOps team at my current employer, so I knew already about this topic, but the way Michael introduced it was wonderful. And I took lots of notes.

Then We started with Kasten, I expected a question and I found it in the session: Why do we need Kubernetes backup?

Let's talk about that, I came from a virtualization background, like most of the attendees. Where we are aware of VM backup. Well, all K8 components are already inside a VM. I mean I can backup files and retrieve them with a few modifications and we are good to go. So the argument is why do we need K8 backup after all?

We are talking here about native backup. I will quote here from Kasten for the reasons:

1. It accommodates Kubernetes deployment patterns.