World Back Up Day Blog of the Month Special Edition - My Story - Luis F.

Userlevel 7
Badge +8

Hello everyone!

After reading some of your experiences and submissions, specially @Madi.Cristil s one, 

I’ve found some time to tell you mine,
this is a personal story, here we go:

Back on 2000 - 2001 , I was an exchange student flying from Spain to the US, without knowing any English at all, just few words, the worst pronunciation ever, scared and to the unknown.

At the beginning, it was fine to take pictures with “single use cameras” (I’m felling very old right now)
but after a while, I saw on Walmart a Digital camera, a Sony Cybershot!! OMG! 😱 1.3mpx of super high quality pictures, jpeg, TIFF and GIF! a monster!!
I bought it, and quickly I started fulling the 64MB memory Stick!! tons of pictures, fortunately, the Computer I’ve got in the house had a 100MB ZIP Drive, so I started backing up my pictures in a Zip Disk, of course, encrypted, but nothing else.

I came back from my exchange, life continued, and I just stored my ZIP Disk in the safe with other memories, letters, gifts, etc.
Once in a while, I took it off, update some pics, and put it back in the safe.
After few years, not using a digital camera, just an smartphone, I literally abandoned it in the safe,
and, couple of years ago, looking at my “in paper” pictures from my trip, I though, Hey! let’s open up the ZIP disk with tons of memories…. and upsss…. password locked!!

Nowadays, I keep trying to remember that password, plugging my ZIP reader into a “old laptop” with Parallel port, and spinning that disk.
I’ve tried with many things, old passwords, combinations, etc. but Nothing!
When I was jonguer, I was not that worried about data or password protection, so I didn’t have a password vault or something like that, my bad.