Solved

Moving to another VCC partner - Security


Userlevel 2

Hello All...We are moving from one Veeam Cloud Connect Partner to another.  We have already finished the migration.  We have disabled all of the Backup Copy jobs to the old partner and are ready to sever our relationship.  However, we want to make sure that the VCC Partner does not have access to the remote repos.  We do not suspect they will do anything but we just want to cover our bases.  I know when a backup copy job is created there is a setting to “Allow Veeam Cloud connect partner to manage this repo”.  Is it a simple matter of unchecking that box to prevent access?  Or should we completely delete the VCC partner from the service provider window?  We would like to avoid deleting them for a week or so since we still do not have 7 days of retention with the new provide so we want to option to get to that data if needed over the next week or so.  So will unchecking allowing them to have access achieve what we want?

Thanks

Dave

icon

Best answer by MicoolPaul 2 March 2021, 18:44

View original

2 comments

Userlevel 7
Badge +14

Hello All...We are moving from one Veeam Cloud Connect Partner to another.  We have already finished the migration.  We have disabled all of the Backup Copy jobs to the old partner and are ready to sever our relationship.  However, we want to make sure that the VCC Partner does not have access to the remote repos.  We do not suspect they will do anything but we just want to cover our bases.  I know when a backup copy job is created there is a setting to “Allow Veeam Cloud connect partner to manage this repo”.  Is it a simple matter of unchecking that box to prevent access?  Or should we completely delete the VCC partner from the service provider window?  We would like to avoid deleting them for a week or so since we still do not have 7 days of retention with the new provide so we want to option to get to that data if needed over the next week or so.  So will unchecking allowing them to have access achieve what we want?

Thanks

Dave

Hi Dave,

 

Shouldn’t be much of a drama here. Reconfigure your Cloud Gateway (Backup Infrastructure > Service Provider > “Name of your old service provider here”. IIRC) and disable the Allow this Veeam Backup & Replication installation to be managed by the service provider. If you have a managed service offering this is part of in particular, keep in mind that they may have deployed remote management agents separately that need removal. Then when you’ve got your required retention on your new provider just completely remove the old one!

 

Also make sure your licenses aren’t tied to the old provider as a VCSP rental or that could result in your license unexpectedly expiring!

Userlevel 2

Thanks for the feedback...Perfect!

Comment