WORLD BACKUP DAY BLOG! Backups and IT Conspiracies!

Userlevel 7
Badge +22

My story goes back many years ago. At the time I was working abroad for an American real estate company. 
My manager was a decent person but very much into the whole "I am a manager" thing. He loved playing mind games with the staff by giving them the evil eye when he was not pleased and making elusive comments about imminent cutbacks in staff with a regretful but obvious smirk on this face. 

He also enjoyed demonstratively taking people into the server room for confidential talks. 
One day he asked me to come and have a talk in the server room so I knew that something unpleasant was afoot. 
He explained that the branch office in K. needed to do a server upgrade and he would have gone and performed the task himself but....blah blah. In short there was obviously something wrong with that office and he did not want to go.
I had a very early flight and arrived at the branch office before 8 am. Much to my surprise the local boss was already there. He immediately informed me that he was a former US Marine, which I found difficult to logically link to his current job as local branch manager of a real estate company in a country half way across the world.
Furthermore, he told me that he did not want me installing any of those "antiviruses" on the computers because they slowed everything down and people worked less.  I was beginning to understand why my manager was avoiding this trip at all costs.

At 9 am the local employees started to arrive all with looks on their faces like they were about to board the Titanic. 
I had told the former Marine that I needed to perform a backup before upgrading or else there could be massive repercussions, and while not being pleased since it might slow things down, he nevertheless agreed.
The server backups targeted tape and had not been working for Months so this backup would take hours.