A SysAdmin (happy ending) story

Userlevel 7
Badge +7

Hi all,

for the upcoming  "System Administrator Appreciation Day," I wanted to tell you about an amazing mis-adventure that happened to me a few years ago.

But first, a brief recap of my work life: I've been working in the IT world since 2012, starting in the Helpdesk of a local IT services company, and then moving to the Datacenter Team a few years later.

Over the years I've encountered a variety of problems, from the simplest and least blocking, to the most complex and critical: servers that no longer boot, applications that don't work, stuck snapshots, deleted LUN..but the one I'm about to tell you about represents for me the most unusual problem I've ever faced (and unfortunately not the most critical).

Our company was a Service Provider, imprinted mainly on IAAS and other related services.

We managed a total of four datacenters: one at HQ, where there were a few racks with essential internal services, and three others located at an Italian supplier where we delivered the bulk of the services for customers..about 20 racks in total.

A few years ago the unthinkable happened: a big storm with an attached whirlwind hit one of these datacenters, causing a real disaster for our services and generating several sleepless nights for our team.

By now, when we tell the story among ourselves we joke about it, but truly we went through that as well: rain inside the datacenter! 😅

The building was obviously built to high standards, but it was not enough to prevent the worst..I still remember the morning I went in and saw the hallways still wet, a shock!

When I entered the room where our cabinets were I saw many sysadmins from other companies who were already working..in "panic mode"! 😵