Solved

How to setup file to tape for rotate of tapes to and from offside storage

Userlevel 1

Dear all,

Apology I am a newbie here and my question may sound naive. We appreciate any help from your guys.

We used Tivoli in the past to backup Oracle for both long term data keeping and DR. We created 3 sets of tapes. 2 sets would  be always in the tape library and one at remote site. Every 2 weeks we get back the offsite set and load it into library, and send one set of tapes to remote site for storage.

Could you please give some idea how to set up file-to-tape job (let say daily full backup of Oracle) in Veeam in similar fashion? Our idea is to create a media pool with 3 media sets. One media set online for backup for 2 weeks, another offline in the tape library and one media set in the vault (to keep in remote site). And we will rotate in that way for every 2 weeks.

Will that work? We value your input very much.

Thank you.

Hien 

icon

Best answer by StefanZi 22 July 2021, 15:11

View original

6 comments

Userlevel 6
Badge +3

I see, AIX. So are you using our AIX agent? In that case you could also put the AIX agent backups to tape (that would be still a machine to tape instead of a file to tape job).

You always can use file to tape jobs, also with VBK files, but of course there’s some intelligence lost because Veeam just knows of files on the tapes and not what they contain (machine backups in case of a VBK).

But yes, you need to go to disk first for that while with a file-2-tape you could probably read the RMAN dumps from the source itself and put them directly to tape.

So if you want to run it like that the easiest way would be to go to a weekly cycle - this is built in the GUI and easy to configure.

1. Create a tape pool for your F2T job with a new media set once per week (e.g. 10 am sunday) and then choose to protect data for 6 weeks (so it won’t get overwritten for the next 6 weeks)