OFFLINE backup copy using rotating USB disks – part 1

Userlevel 7
Badge +11

As a system consultant I often implement solutions for customers in the SMB market.

Working for the SMB market is often more challenging than working for the enterprise market because of the limited financial budget/investment.

I always try to deliver a solution that is as good and secure as for customers of the enterprise market but of course with other and cheaper solutions 😉.

Of course VEEAM is always being used as the software defined backup solution 😊.

For me personally the golden 3-2-1-1-0 rule is one of the most important things to keep in mind when creating a good backup solution for the customer.

More info about that you can read in one of my first posts : 3-2-1-1-0 Golden Backup Rule | Veeam Community Resource Hub

In this post (part 1 of 2 parts) I explain a bit more about implementing the second 1 in the rule – offline backup.

One of the solutions is using rotating USB disks.

This is specifically for backups of VMs and/or backups using agents of physical/cloud objects.

In part 2 I will go much deeper in the solution and explain how it works and what limitations you have to keep in mind.

As already mentioned, often has the customer in the SMB market a limited budget to invest in their backup solution.

That doesn’t mean that the data of this customer is less important than a customer of the enterprise market !!!

Absolutely not, for me as a consultant it’s much more challenging to have a good solution which is more or less secure, stable and good as a solution with a much bigger budget available.

For the offline backup copy I often choose to implement rotating USB disks.

First why?

It’s needed in case of a disaster when the primary backups are not available anymore or in case of ransomware (the primary backups are online and therefore encrypted and not usable anymore).

More in detail :